Quick Card Search:
navigation About Us Contact Us Compare Videocards Forum Links Search Cards Submit A Videocard Videocard Table Home Video Card Review Finder Video Card Superlatives Video Card Database Video Card News
Tabs   Tabs

9800 GTX launching super fun time day.

Tie a green ribben 'round the 'ol oak tree. The 9800 GTX is here. Woo! Too bad it does not live up to its own name...

Nvidia's GeForce 9800 GTX page.

Now for some quotes!

[H]ard|OCP

A “new” product that comes to market is usually considerably better performing than its predecessor, at least in the high end GPU space. That is not the case here. There is more fancy “green” technology in this 9800 GTX, which is of course a step in the right direction, but it does not shift any performance paradigms...

...The 9800 GTX is a not an upgrade for the gamer already using an 8800 GTX. There are a few reasons that the 9800 GTX is a better product than the 8800 GTX, but gaming is not one of them. If you are a gamer and were hoping to upgrade, today is not the day if you already own pretty much any 8800 series card. Here’s hoping real next-gen technology will be seen in a “9900” series soon. Considering the funky cloud this is likely to leave over the “9X00” moniker, NVIDIA will likely be better off moving a different direction with the next GeForce branding as this launch is likely to taint that somewhat.

The 9800 GTX is disappointing to the enthusiast and certainly confusing to those that are not in a position to understand the svelte changes that lie under the heatspreader.

Bit-Tech

If you were looking towards the GeForce 9800 GTX as the card that drives single GPU performance forwards again, you're going to be sorely disappointed with this card. And to some extent, we are disappointed because this is the cost of no competition - something we hope will change soon.

When I first heard about the GeForce 9800 GTX, it felt like a nothing release for gamers and that's pretty much what it has proved to be - if you've already got a GeForce 8800 GTX or 8800 GTS 512, there's no need to consider this card at the moment. With that said, there's nothing wrong with the card itself - performance is good in isolation and comparable to what's out there when you take into account competition...

...It's the 1st April today, and Nvidia has delivered what might be the ultimate irony. The 9800 GTX is a card targeted at gamers, but sadly it's on that front where this card falls down - it's just not an upgrade for anyone that would consider buying it.

Guru3D

Granted this card is nothing new in terms of performance, and is surely bound to disappoint the ones that had high hopes and expected a new faster single GPU based flagship product. That's the only real distress we can think of, but yeah we are still at the same performance level as year and a half ago. Why am I positive about this product then? For one sole reason only ... the price. 

 

Reference 9800 GTX

GPUReview's 9800 GTX overclocking round up!

Plenty of reviews provided overclocking results this time. Bit-Tech even gave a result for each of their 4 retail cards! Thanks guys!

Our overclocking roundup.

Some people always be hatin', but we're always keepin' it real.

So the official specifications for the GeForce 9800 GTX are (drum roll):

Core: 675MHz

Memory: 2,200MHz

Shader: 1,688MHz

Well gee..you know what? Those seem to be the same specifications that we entered into our database in late February. And back then some of you had some very strong opinions about the authenticity of those specifications.

From Anonymous on February 26 2008:

this cant be right, 256bit / 512mb?
both are lower then 8800GTX

9800 GTX 512MB (G92)
Texture Units: 56 (64)
8800 GTS 512MB (G92)
Texture Units: 64 (64)

so they downgraded the 8800GTS and made it into a 9800GTX?

From Me on April 1 2008:

Yes "it" is right and yes they did.

From Anonymous on February 27 2008:

Hey gpureview people, why do you even have this on your page when it's not even coming out for another month. That gpuz picture seems fake, those specs suck, and I don't think anything should be said until its official from Nvidia. I could Photoshop a gpuz picture like that or even better. Whose to say that's not a fake picture? I just can't believe those are the supposable specs of nvidia's near flagship graphics card. Also why would they use the G92 in it, the freaking 9600gt has a g94! The 9800gtx was supposed to be a G100. These specs just don't make sense.

From Me on April 1 2008:

Hey anonymous person, that GPU-Z screenshot was not fake but yes, a card with the name 9800 GTX and these specs, does not make sense. 

From Anonymous on February 27 2008:

Take this down. I didnt know GPU review started putting up RUMOR specs that arent official and almost 100% likely fake.

From Me on April 1 2008:

Like the hosts of The Totally Rad Show would say...this "RUMOR" turned out to be a TRUMOR. So anonymous, why don't you go take down...um...your FACE! lolz

From Anonymous on February 27 2008:

These specs are fake!!!!!!! Even the bandwith of the 9800gtx are lower than the 8800gtx. I smell... FAKE!!!!!!!!!!

From Me on April 1 2008:

I smell some one who was totally WRONG!!!!!!

From Lightnix on March 1 2008:

Erm, you do realise that every other website reporting this is also linking back to Expreview? The chances of this card having these specs is extraordinarily unlikely, especially as G92 seems to have a 1:2 TMU:Shader ratio but this seems to show 128:52 (however you want to simplify that, 32:13?)...

Now consider that the 'picture' of the 9800 GTX that was posted on VR-Zone was quite obviously a photoshop (look at it in a picture editor, there are loads of areas where the black is rgb < 444 and loads where it's rgb = fff. Not a real pic by far).

I'm also disappointed that unlike usual instead of waiting for a manufacturer to put their card up, you've just gone with an 'ifs and buts' hardware site...

Also, GPU-Z is hardly ever right pre-release, remember the 8800 GT? Yeah, I thought so.

From Me on April 1 2008:

OMG! It's a conspiracy! Good thing we (the Internet) have a detective like you on our side Mr. Lightnix. (Could you detect my sarcasm? Yeah, I thought so.)

From Anonymous on March 3 2008:

THIS IS a big damn FAKE!!!
8800GTX = 518.0 GFLOPS and 9800GTX = 432.128 GFLOPS? WTF? this is a big fake sorry...

From Me on April 1 2008:

Sorry? Sorry about what? Maybe you are sorry about being so WRONG!!!

From Anonymous on March 5 2008:

This can't possibly be real. This is, for all intents and purposes, identical to the 8800 GTS G92, and is actually WORSE in the memory clock

From Me on April 1 2008:

Oh, but it is real. It really is really real.

From Anonymous on March 8 2008:

Not sure where the G92 rumor came from, but the G82, G72, etc were never used for the 800 series of any of the generations. The 800 series has always had a chip ending in 0. I think the 9800 GTX will be based on a G90 chip and hopefully provide a huge leap in performance over the 8800 GTX/Ultras. As for all the pics and specs floating around, they all originated from the same site and are easily fakeable. Nothing about them makes sense, especially considering that it's supposed to have dual 6 pin power supply, whereas the 8800gts had 1, so definately not just an OC of that.

From Me on April 1 2008:

You know what is also "easily fakeable"? My sincerity when I say that your sixth sense is truly incredible.

From -rk on March 15 2008: 

Wow, I've seen so much bad info on the posts for this card...

for example: "800 series always ends with a "0" not a 2" (I'm assuming that you are talking about geforce 8800 series cards)

The 8800GT and GTS 512 use the G92 core.

Do some more research or state your point more clearly.

That said, I also think that the released info on this card is probably wrong. I don't think that Nvidia is so stupid that they would place a G92 in the 9800 when they could upgrade the G94. It's much more efficient.
You can't always believe what press says about a card, nor can you get all pissy at the admins for wanting to get SOME info about a new card out there.

So you can all stop pissing yourselves.

Why am I always so angry??? 

From Me on April 1 2008:

Nope, Nvidia is this stupid but thanks for the support. (Even though it sounds like you have a urine fetish. Creeeeep-y!)

Conclusion: 

Well this time, Mike and I were lucky enough, trusting enough (in Expreview and other sites) and cynical enough to get the facts on the 9800 GTX correct. We might not always be 100% correct from the get-go, but we promise to always make the necessary corrections and apologies. Maybe some of the above users will do the same by posting a comment to this story...  

Food For Thought

GeForce 9800 GTX

I think this graph pretty much sums up my feelings about the GeForce 9800 GTX. After reading all the reviews today, I'm surprised to see that most review sites aren't anywhere near as angry about this as I am. As you can see from the graph, with the exception of the ultra-rare GeForce 7800 GTX 512MB to 7900 GTX transition, the 9800 GTX marks the first time nVidia has ever taken a step backwards when moving to a new high-end card.

Another humorous testing information picture for you!

I was cleaning out the parser today, adding some cards that I never bothered to add before. For example, I finally added the PCI HD 2400 Pro page. I know some of you have been waiting for that card to be added...

Anyhoo...while adding a Forsa GeForce 7200 GS I found the following: 

Forsa's GeForce 7200 GS table.

So if any of you think you can improve on this beautiful table, please post your image link in a comment to this story. I will then post them in this news post. 

UPDATE: Oh man! There's more. Straight from Forsa's GeForce 7100 GS page:

 

Forsa's GeForce 7100 GS graphs.

From aVaLaNcHe:

Avalanche

From ty_ger:

ty_ger

From Duesco:

Duesco's.

From ihira:

ihira's

GeForce 9800 GT Will Be 55nm

VR-Zone reports that nVidia is prepping a 55nm version of G92: G92b. It will be used first in the upcoming 9800 GT which will be released in July. Or so the story goes. Head on over to VR-Zone to get the details.

Asus makes you a HD 3850 X2 for Passover.

Asus is hoping that you won't be able to Passover this "World Exclusive Dual HD3850 GPU Solution". It looks very similar to Asus' non-reference 3870 X2 designs due to the fact that it uses the same cooling solution. Unfortunately, the 3850 X2 has only 2 DVI ports instead of the 4 that the are on Asus' 3870 X2s.

Please pay no attention to the data currently located on the Specifications page for this card. I really don't think this card has 32MB or 64 bit memory. 

 

X2 comparison.

nVidia Silently Launches the Quadro FX 4700 X2

techPowerUp noticed that nVidia quietly released an update to its Quadro line today. What's interesting about this new card, is thta it's a dual-pcb, dual-gpu solution with 4 DVI ports, presumably based on G92. What's even more interesting is that it looks nothing like a 9800 GX2. The PCBs are stacked much like the GeForce 7950 GX2.

nVidia has more information here.

We'll be adding the card to the database once more information about its core clock speeds (and exactly what chip its using) becomes available.

First DirectX 10.1 game has been found and tested and then removed.

Rage3D has done it. They found the first DirectX 10.1 game and they have tested said game with a HD 2900 XT and a HD 3870 X2. Want to know what game it is? You'll have to read the article to find out

Here is a statement from an ATI employee that confirms Rage3D's discovery:

"...In this instance our developer relations team worked directly with the developer and found an area of code that could be executed more optimally under DX10.1 operation, thus benefiting the ATI Radeon HD 3000 Series."

UPDATE:

Ubisoft is removing the DirectX 10.1 support from Assassin's Creed! lolz!

IGN article.

First 9600 GSO page is live! SCOOP!

Thanks to our awesome parser, we have scooped the rest of the Internet once again! The XFX 9600 GSO page appeared today, and I have set up the 9600 GSO page. I don't know what the reference speeds are going to be so I used the speeds that XFX listed as the reference speeds. Actually there may not be any concrete reference speeds for this card because the manufacturers have carte blanche with this new card:

...The 9600 GSO is still based on the same G92 core with 96 stream processors but NVIDIA will give board makers a bit more freedom in their designs in terms of own PCB design to and determine their own clocks.

Here is the only news I could find about the 9600 GSO. I guess it was supposed to launch in May.

 

XFX 9600 GSO

Newegg has a sweet new Flash picture viewer for its products!

SCOOP! I looked all around Newegg's site and forums and I did not find anyone talking about this. I was linking up today's video cards with our Newegg parser and I noticed that some new products have a new Flash picture viewer complete with Zoom In and Zoom Out functionality! Now you can get super close to a product before you buy it. How close? This is a close up of a Gigabyte HD 3450:

Gigabyte 3450 Zoom

Here are some links to a few products that are using the new viewer. So far only the newest product addtions to Newegg's site have the new viewer.

Gigabyte HD 3450
PNY 8400 GS
Biostar 6800 XT
Asus 8400 GS
VisionTek HD 3450
Abit IP35 Pro Off Limits LGA775 Motherboard
DFI LANPARTY DK X48-T2RS LGA775 Motherboard

From jimday: 

EVGA 9800 GX2 SSC
Asus 9600 GT TOP
Asus 9600 GT Silent

There are a lot more products than what I linked above, but I didn't find anything really cool. If you find something really good, leave us a comment with the link! 

AMD's Radeon 4000 Series Coming in May?

A couple of sites have specifications for the Radeon HD 4000 series cards which are rumored to be coming in May (thanks Blackened Fox for the tip). I went ahead and added these cards to our database though the specifications are still up in air. These cards are sporting some absolutely sick memory clock speeds thanks to GDDR5 support; the high end model will be running 1935MHz (that's 3870MHz effective!!).

http://www.tgdaily.com/content/view/37025/135/

http://www.hardware-infos.com/news.php?news=2008

GeForce 9600 GSO launched.

Nvidia has launched their new 9600 GSO part today. Yippie! I have found a few more manufacturers that have the card listed and more should be appearing soon. Here is Evga's launch page for your reading pleasure.

 

Reference 9600 GSO pic.
none   none